In Articles, Culture

 

After an initial period of shock as the current crisis unfolds, many of us are now focusing on critical estate planning issues. PK Law can help you prepare and execute your estate planning documents during this difficult time.

Remote Capabilities 

Our attorneys and staff have full remote capabilities to minimize any interruption in our ability to provide seamless, streamlined services. To protect you and our staff, we are conducting client meetings via multiple means, including Zoom, Skype, FaceTime, and telephone.

In addition, we can help coordinate document signings at your home.  Some estate planning documents (Wills, Advance Health Care Directives) only need to be signed in the presence of two independent witnesses, and do not require a notary.  When a notary is necessary, for example on a Financial Power of Attorney, PK Law will coordinate and instruct on the use of a mobile notary.

Is Your Plan Still Current? Time to Update – or Implement

Have your circumstances changed? Have you had children since you last executed your estate planning documents? Or have your children grown up and started their own families? Has your financial situation or marital status changed considerably? Are your executors and trustees still suitable choices? Have you named the right people to serve as guardians for your minor children? Now is a great time to look critically at any documents you may already have in place, or to finally implement the planning you may have been putting off.

In addition, it is important to review the beneficiary designations on your retirement plans, life insurance, and non-retirement assets, as well as any pay-on-death or transfer-on-death instructions you may have in place. PK Law will help you coordinate those designations with any changes that you might want or need to make to your wills, trusts, and other estate planning documents. It is important to ensure that all of these things are coordinated to meet your estate planning objectives.

PK Law is Here for You

Make sure that your estate planning documents carry out your healthcare and testamentary wishes. With our probate courts closed for the foreseeable future, it is more compelling than ever for you to review your planning, beneficiary designations, and asset ownership to make sure everything is in place to protect you and your family.

Please contact any of us with your needs and concerns. We are available to discuss your estate planning needs and prepare any new documents that you require.  Above all, stay healthy and treasure this time with your loved ones.

After an initial period of shock as the current crisis unfolds, many of us are now focusing on critical estate planning issues. PK Law can help you prepare and execute your estate planning documents during this difficult time.

The PK Law Wealth Preservation Group

David Pessin:  dpessin@pklaw.com 410-339-6762

Kevin Bress:  kbress@pklaw.com 410-339-6767

Kimberly Battaglia: kbattaglia@pklaw.com 410-938-8715

Elizabeth Green: egreen@pklaw.com 410-769-6150

Cheryl Jones: cjones@pklaw.com 410-769-6141

Ashley Nelson-Raut: anelsonraut@pklaw.com 410-740-3149

Zoe Kerasidis: zkerasidis@pklaw.com 410-938-8704